Riot confirms the 10 EU LCS teams for 2019, the league will return on the 18th of January

According to an official press release by Riot Games, the ten teams competing in the future League of Legends European Championship (LEC, formerly EU LCS) will be the following:

  • Fnatic
  • FC Schalke 04
  • G2 Esports
  • Misfits Gaming
  • Vitality
  • Splyce
  • exceL Esports
  • Rogue
  • SK Gaming
  • Origen

Additionally, the EU LCS will rebrand to the LEC with the start of next season.

The league will return on the 18th of January.

Additionally, the official lolesports twitter has posted a trailer for the upcoming league:

This also means that the former EU LCS organisations Unicorns of Love, Roccat, H2k, and Giants Gaming will officially not participate in the premier European competition anymore.

Additionally, fans have criticised Riot Games for the lack of Spanish organisations: While Origen has Spanish history, the team is now owned by Danish investment group RFRSH. Both Movistar Riders and MAD Lions were reported to be close candidates for the upcoming league, but ultimately didn’t make it.

Show More
Your support for The Shotcaller would mean the world to us!

Darius Matuschak

Darius is an esports journalist trying to nurture esports culture whenever possible. He got into esports while finishing his Bachelor in Journalism, and has been a regular EU LCS attendee since January 2017.

Related Articles

Back to top button