Premier League’s ‘Big 6’ Agree to Join New European Super League

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham are among 12 clubs who have agreed to hitch a replacement European Super League (ESL).

In a seismic move for European football, the Premier League clubs will join AC Milan, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus, and Real Madrid.

The ESL said the founding clubs had agreed to determine a “new midweek competition” with teams continuing to “compete in their respective national leagues”.

It says the inaugural season “is intended to commence as soon as practicable” and “anticipated that an extra three clubs will join” the breakaway.

The ESL says it also plans to launch a women’s competition as soon as possible after the men’s tournament starts.

UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson, Uefa, and the Premier League condemned the move to launch a European Super League when news of it broke on Sunday.

World administration Fifa has previously said it might not recognize such a contest and any players involved in it might be denied the prospect to play at a World Cup.

Uefa, Europe’s administration, reiterated this warning on Sunday when it said players involved would be banned from all other competitions at domestic, European, or world level and will be prevented from representing their national teams.

After the Super League was announced, Fifa expressed its “disapproval” of the proposed competition and called on “all parties involved in heated discussions to interact in calm, constructive and balanced dialogue for the good of the game”.

In a statement, the ESL said: “Going forward, the founding clubs anticipate holding discussions with Uefa and Fifa to figure together in partnership to deliver the simplest outcomes for the new league and football as a whole.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *